Sunday Run-day.

This morning I went running. I was kind of a lazy person for the first half of the weekend, and the weather has been kind of gross, so I decided to take advantage of the sunshine and get out.

I went to one of my favorite places to run – East Goshen Township Park. The park is in Paoli, really close to my apartment, and it’s so much nicer than running on the street and having to pay attention to traffic and other annoyances – and probably safer.

I love the park because it’s huge. There are multiple playgrounds, tennis courts, basketball courts, volleyball courts, baseball fields, pavilions, and bathrooms with water fountains – necessities when one is running for an extended period of time.

What I really love about the park is that there are always a lot of people around. People biking, people walking (with dogs), people playing – it’s nice to people watch while I get the job done.

There’s a 1 mile loop around the park which I ran on today, but there’s also an additional path across the street that doesn’t have mile markers but is also nice.

I started running later than I wished because I had to charge my iPod, but I actually ended up forgetting it when I left my car. Thankfully, I was distracted by all the staring I did.

On my run today I encountered 2 interesting things:

1) A woman had a small dog (possibly a poodle) who did not have functioning hind legs, so she had a regular leash and then a harness/leash around his back legs that she used to hold him up in the back – sort of like a marionette. It was so sweet.

2) I saw a mom running with her young (maybe 7 years old) son biking with her. At first I was like “how cute.” However, it was weird that they weren’t interacting with each other at all. Then I saw them on my next loop and the mom was running 15 feet ahead of the son who was walking his bike up a short hill and asking her to stop and wait for him. Her response: “No. You’ll catch up.” And she kept on running. Not so sweet.

All in all it was a successful venture. After running I rewarded myself with iced coffee and Harry Potter. It was a nice little Sunday.

The end.

– Sarah #2

Leave a Reply

