Treadmill Superstar

Well, it happened. I signed up for another race: The Philadelphia Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in September (formally known as the Philly Distance Run).

Given that I’m adverse to heat (read: I sweat like a man), I will probably train for this race predominantly on the treadmill at the good old YMCA.

I have a love/hate relationship with the treadmill. Actually, I’d love it if the YMCA put on better TV channels. Watching the news and/or Sports Center does not motivate me. At all. Even the treadmills with their own televisions don’t play more than about 5 basic channels. Why this is, I’m not sure, but it annoys me to no end.

So, without the TV I’m forced to listen to my iPod for the duration of my run. For whatever reason, the music that is most motivating for me is music performed by female singers, so I can sing along in my head, pretend I’m famous, and therefore distract myself from the pain of putting one foot in front of the other.

What? Everyone’s got a distraction strategy, mine just happens to be pretending I’m a famous singer. A girl’s gotta dream.

However, sometimes I get really into the songs I’m listening to – like forget where I am and what I’m doing.

Sometimes there are dance moves.

And sometimes I start singing out loud.

Whoops. Nothing breaks the delusion that you’re somebody important than having everyone turn and look at you busting out a song on the treadmill, dripping in sweat, and clearly oblivious to the surroundings.

Maybe by the time I run this half marathon I’ll not only be in running shape, I’ll also have whipped my vocals into shape.

Until then, if you happen to hear me singing along to Glee songs or dancing to Britney whilst getting my run on, please ignore me.

Or, enjoy the show. I certainly do.

– Sarah #2

Leave a Reply

