It’s National Nerd Day!

Today is National Grammar Day! It’s a day for me to celebrate the fact that, as Neal pointed out, I’m a big dork.

And you know what? He’s right! On Wednesday I found out about the holiday (holiday!) on Twitter. Immediately I got excited. And then I saw a contest where you could submit a limerick about grammar and win a grammar book.

I then spent all day, every spare moment, trying to craft a winning limerick. If that doesn’t make me a dork, nothing does. And the sad part? It was fun – even when Sarah #1 judged me for writing a limerick expressing my fondness for the Oxford Comma.

Today? I had a lot of work to do. But in between all the work? I forced the intern, Jackie, to take grammar quizzes with me online. I think I scared her with my enthusiasm. And, following the quizzes she was afraid to talk to me on gchat in case she spelled something wrong. But we learned the difference between loath/loathe and that’s what really matters.

It was a day of learning and embracing the fact that my heart beats a little faster when I spend TWENTY minutes reading about commas!

So, on this day of grammar, I share with you my favorite punctuation mark – aside from the Oxford Comma (my one true love):

interrobang

Hello, Interrobang. Seriously, what’s not to love. You can exclaim AND question at the same time. HOW CAN YOU NOT LOVE THIS?! (See? See how I could have used the interrobang there if it were an option on my keyboard?)

I wish I could walk around with this on t-shirt. It’s amazing. I want to tattoo it on my body and flash it at relevant times. First there was Superman, then there was INTERROBANG! Plus, it’s fun to say.

There’s really no good way to conclude this other to say that I’m pretty sure that even my parents are judging me right now. 

Because when you say, “What’s my antidrug? GRAMMAR!” You sound so lame that you may as well go smoke a joint to win back some credibility.

If it’s any consolation I’m drinking wine from a box. That’s the best I can do.

– Sarah #2

Leave a Reply

